Tangled Mess

Tangled Mess

I normally try to post this weekly blog on Wed/Thurs, but this week has been very hectic. It’s one of those weeks where life takes over and you just can’t get to a computer. Have no fear I do have the blog plus some musical news too.
Well as you all may have heard California has been needing some desperate rain, and this was the week the rain came down. Which means everyone was busting out all their rain gear, sweaters, beanies, gloves etc. it was super busy in coat check.

So the rain in SF, made for a long wet night in my coat check. I was working a musical event of about 550 people or so, and it seemed that most people who came to the event wanted coat check( I don’t blame them a lot of people were soaked). I ended up filling up 3 large racks and all  the space in my coat check was taken and a receptacle for wet umbrellas.
At the end of the night the people that submitted their coats, were eager to get them back. Needless to say that took a moment but I was done issuing them all back within 20-25 mins.
Then upon my last coat check return, I slowly turned and looked at the whole picture of my night. Hangers all disorganized & scattered, coat check tickets ripped that seemed to miss the garbage can. The only way I knew how to remedy this situation was just to dive in and organize this Giant Tangled Mess of hangers.
Hangers? Really? Yes!
Now hangers are no joke especially in the world of coat check, there are all kinds of different hangers plastic, wooden, velvet, metal etc. and at the end of the night like I had last night they were all in a pile. As I dug into the pile, I instantly thought to myself  yes going to make it this week’s blog because you all out there should know what happens at the end of the night.
I was grabbing hangers 2-5 at a time,  untangling the hangers because most of them were intertwined and making sure that they were all facing the same way. This process can be time consuming especially if it is at the end of the night and your just mentally done.  It is important to keep your coat check organized, I totally consider it bad form to walk into a coat check that is not organized. So, I do my part and set it up for the next checker. Remember being prepared is half the battle.

I got to work some really impressive shows this week. So these two bands are my new recommendations: Really strong live performances! You should check them all out.

So bands to check out
St. Lucia http://youtu.be/ocA-9CnVzXY

Lucius http://youtu.be/wNmEdxgUs0E

Conway https://www.facebook.com/conwaymusic

 

Photography class entry

About CHECK MY COAT

I have been working in coat check since 2006 in a few live music venues. This blog is something I have meaning to do for a long time. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

