First Time

I was thinking about the stuff I did in my teens and my early 20’s, and life just seemed to have picked up at around the age of 15 for me. That was because I knew that I was going be able to find  a new sense of freedom, getting a license and getting a car.
My earliest night club memories were at an under age club you had to be 16 to get in. It was called the Amazon in Sacramento I think it was around 1992ish. We would hit up some club nights on a Friday or Saturday night and attended their Goth night where you’d hear Souxsie and The Banshees, The Cure, Morrissey, KMFDM etc. we be hopped up on sodas and dance until 1am.
Fast Forward … I think my first official coat check was at a rave. in the early 1990’s; I don’t remember the particulars of the party but what I do remember is that there was a make shift area in a giant warehouse that smelled like Nag Champa, and a girl with red curly hair with a big hat that covered her red curls. She was checking coats, bags, and whatever else. I think coat check was about $5.  I paid her my $5, and there went my bag that I didn’t want to deal with.  I did get a claim number.  I did have a couple of questions, Thankfully, I ran into another person and got the skinny. But, like every newbie I did go through the usual questions: Will my bag be safe? Is this person going to be here all night? What happens if …. ?
But in these situations, you learn quick and get back to the dance floor.
Back in the day if you forgot something in your pockets or bag, that was considered a REPULL and you’d just had to repay for it, unless you had the hookup. I guess what I am trying to convey is that when I was with my friends the experience of going out was not only for entertainment, but it also taught me some “going out” skills. I was so lucky to have moved into a household with people who were at least 3-5 years older than me, and to have an older group of friends. I was the baby in the group, and just hanging out with them I learned my social etiquette. I learned how to go out. Which means learning the process of how to order a drink at the bar, how to check my coat in coat check, and how to leave tips.

This week in coat check sparked my trip down memory lane, because I did have a couple of first time coat check patrons. They were super nice people, and what was really cool was they let me know that this was their first experience doing coat check. I could tell they were curious, and attentive and wanted to know the deal.
I gave them a quick recap of how coat check works. I went through the entire process with them. It was really a reciprocal moment. I was so glad to inform them, and give them a base experience. Basically adding to their knowledge of going out, and introducing them to the world of coat check. In the big picture of things it was a quality moment for patron and coat checker.
Working in coat check, I do notice there is a disconnect these days when people go out. It seems like everyone is having a first time (constantly) .. or has not been clued in on how to do something properly. My suggestion is:  Ask your questions, with a smile.

I was so truly lucky to have experienced so many life lessons and memories with quality people who taught me how to go out. This weeks blog is dedicated to the shared experience and making memories.

 

“There is a first time for everything; a life moment that you will remember and pass on.
Some moments are much more larger than others,no doubt some are so micro mini that you may dismiss them, hold on to the quality of the feeling and pass it on. ” ~S

Until next time,
LGOYW

 

About CHECK MY COAT

I have been working in coat check since 2006 in a few live music venues. This blog is something I have meaning to do for a long time. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

