Summer in the coat check

Hey All,

My once a week blog has an impromtu Gone Fishing moment.. Oh well, it happens. Its summer , and the first few days of it hit me like a brick. I was wanting to play hookie from everything.. ha ha as you can tell.

Summer in the coat check has thus far been super sparse. Even living in a city known for the fog.. it’s been slim checkin’s. I worked a 1200 person show the other night really close to a sell out and out of all those people who came I got about 30 items that were checked in.. and walked away with a whole $2 dollars in tips. So that is what I mean by summer and working in the coat check. Actually, it’s hit or miss it really depends on the show and crowd. I am sure if you have been reading my other posts you know what I am talking about.

Most these days are the giant backpacks people bring to shows. It seems as if people are hauling their belongings everywhere hence making it for a heavy haul to attend a show. The purse, The merse, and The Backpack. They just keep evolving..

So summer shows and festivals you may want to ear mark for

Ginger Baker was just here playing at Yoshi’s in Oakland.. ahhhh next time, he may be making his way to your neck of the woods if so you must check it out.. I saw the documentary and it made me more of a fan!

Super freestyle explosion is this weekend 6/28 in SJ.. .with Lisa LIsa Cult Jam, JJ FAD… ole skool

Die Antwoord – Playing in the Bay In September

Burger Boogaloo Music Fest , SF/OAK – Ronnie Spector is to headline it ( I personally have to see this)

King Diamond will be coming to the Warfield in SF , on Devil’s night.

The Treasure Island Music Festival

Outside Lands is coming up

Of course there are the free Shows in Golden Gate Park during the summer..

Hardly Strictly Bluegrass, and Stern Grove Festival

Lots of summer time fun stuff to do.. and this is just in the SF Bay Area…

Don’t forget the July 4th Coney Island Hot Dog Eating Contest

If you are reading my blog from another city/town.. what is the big Summertime show/festival you go to?

 

I’ll be back.. next week. Until then LGOYW

About CHECK MY COAT

I have been working in coat check since 2006 in a few live music venues. This blog is something I have meaning to do for a long time. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

