Slow your roll, “ain’t no one gonna lose an eyeball”

So over the period of the last few weeks, I have been to some awesome shows, a little of both work and play. And I there are those times during my job where I do meet really genuine and cool people. Most of the time before and after the show it’s busy, but there are those shows where people are straggling’ and just getting there for the headlining act. I had a show I was working about 2 weeks ago, I can’t really remember what band it was, but a gentleman came into coat check late halfway through the headlining act, check his coat and saw the rest of the show. He came back after the show was done to get his coat, and shared with me that he thought he lost $20. Immediately, I started asking questions and told him to back track his last half hour, and then I shared with him my ( ya know whats).. I tend to (ya know what) a lot of topics.. but I really did feel bummed for the guy. I said, “ you know what?” he stood attentive.. I said when you catch yourself in this type of situation be it money, an item of value or importance like you house/car keys.. this is a sign that you need to slow down.

Slow your roll, “ain’t no one gonna lose an eyeball” this is the sentence that runs through my mind when I get those patrons that infer that there in such a hurry and basically throwing their coats at you. Their body language is so descriptive that they come across annoyed (lots of huffing and eyeball rolling), attitude driven even when I acknowledge that they were next. And being the coat checker, there have been many a time that I have thanked people for being patient for a line that had a 2-3 minute wait.  I Blame the parents who raised the I want it NOW! Insta everything Generation.. and all the digital devices to back up that sentiment.. even if they are used to make our lives easier they are making us socially inept.
I told the dude to , “Just be mindful of what goes in and out of your pockets.” Then this look came over his face, like  YES! you are totally right. It was a really cool moment because it led to a mini conversation about multitasking and how people are so connected to so many things that sometimes you automatically go through the motions and really don’t process what you are doing until… you lose $20bux!. and be it as it may, $20bux is $20bux, that’s at least 2-3 drinks at the the bar, or a merchandise purchase at a show or a ride home in a cab. The point is, that by splitting your brain to do 2-3, to 5 things all at once it poses the question of intake and personal accounting of yourself. The American workforce has been groomed to be a multitasking machine, you look at all the companies out there and see job posts looking for Multitasker do 3 jobs and get paid for 1. It’s a double edged sword.. doing a few things at the same time is pretty damn awesome as long as your are not fucking shit up, and folks some people are just better than it than others. But the flip side on that is… are you present in the moment? Are you receiving the information you are supposed to? Are you having the quality moment that you are supposed to have with yourself? ( Are you at a cafe with your friends having coffee and texting on your phone?)
The conversation gradually came to both of us sharing our experiences, and acknowledging that taking things down a notch, isn’t gonna stop the presses or make someone lose a limb. It’s Quality over quantity. So for this blog entry, I encourage you all to be realistic with yourselves.
Also, heads up it’s the holidays and if your multitasking the whole enchilada, be mindful of your currency, and use some of those old fashioned manners you read about in a real paper book.

Until Next time,

LGOYW

About CHECK MY COAT

I have been working in coat check since 2006 in a few live music venues. This blog is something I have meaning to do for a long time. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

