SHARING IS CARING

 

sharingiscaring

The land of Coat Check has been pretty consistent lately, the weather is of course a friend to us coat checkers because it makes people wear more layers and accessorize. And people are definitely antsy to get out and do something. I have been seeing familiar faces and meeting new people and having cool conversations with them.

My most recent cool conversation topic was with a patron name Emily. She and I got to talking she had also been a coat checker at some point in her life and we got to talking about “coat check”, I get some of my best insights with other coat checkers. I shared with her that what I noticed the most was the newly turned 21 patrons approach coat check. I told her that there is definitely a social divide because 75 percent of them are unsure how coat check works, so I have to give the quick instructions on how it works. I definitely think that since I was 21 this new crowd of night owls is not getting the true “how to go out” instruction. When I was about 21 and going out I was so lucky to have friends that varied in ages. My group of friends was multiple circles of people in their 20’s, 30’s and even 40’s, so going out with them was not only a good time but I was also learning how to go out.

The conversation steered into talking about younger people. I told her honestly that I didn’t really have a frame of reference of interacting with younger people because I just didn’t really know any because they are not in my immediate circle, and to be honest I really don’t want to interact because most of the younger people that I see on a daily basis are actin’ a fool in large public places they don’t know how to control themselves and be chill in public; or the other spectrum is that their faces are buried in their phones.

Emily shared that she did work with young people, and all I could think was whoops! my perspective was not so happy Hello Kitty. BUT, the other part of me was like “Good for you.” Really, truly, I was taken back by her choice to work with youth, people that work with youth I totally Salute you.

The last part of the conversation was quirky coat check stories that had recently happened of blind dates gone wrong on Tinder… and how these big online digital dating platforms are showing up and morphing the social dating scene. And what do you have left is someone like me experiencing some off the cuff drama from something that was started through an app. Life is crazy like that. ( check out my last blog installment on that topic)

 

Patrons always ask what is the best show you have seen here in the coat check. DRUM ROLL!! I have a few but I am going to be really specific and what my brain fires off too first.

DIE ANTWOORD – this show made me LOVE them I had no idea who they were

M.I.A – This show was amazing

TURQUOISE JEEP – This was group I had never heard of, later on to find they are a YOUTUBE sensation they went on tour showed up to our location and it was all that some crazy booty nasty dancing and lot of ladies was screaming.. something for everyone

X – Had never seen them and I was blown away!!

BRIDGET EVERETT – Okay, brace yourself when you go to her comedy show. GO TO HER SHOW! she is not holds barred knock ya in the teeth funny, provocative, smart, and WOMAN!

BIG FREEDA – As my home girl put it, it was the OLYMPICS of twerking. Yes! Yes! Triple YAAAASSS! You want to get schooled , scream your ass off, see a bomb ass visual show then GO SEE BIG FREEDA! GURL!

I will work on getting what is the worst show I have seen for next time.

_________________________________________________________________

Shows that I have been to recently and that are on tour somewhere in the world

MEGADETH! OMG BECKY! this is a MUST see show.. so visually AMAZING! THE BAND so PRO!

SHELLAC – This is a rare one if you get to see it, but I caught them on tour opening up for Neurosis

NEGATIVE APPROACH – Loved this show they were also on tour with Neurosis

SUICIDAL TENDENCIES – YES!! They opened up for MEGADETH all the ole skool memories relived so amazing!

MELANIE MARTINEZ – This is something your young kids would be into. She was on THE VOICE she is awesome her show is amazing super sold out, and her merch is amazing. This girl is making it happen on her own terms, and she has her own lipstick to boot Crybaby!

DWTS TOUR – I took my mom to this tour and it was awesome. Just like the show showcased your favorite dancers 90 mins of great live performance and they are actually a funny group great sense of humor.

UB40- We decided to go on vacation and caught UB40 in Hawaii because we were going to PROBOWL, they sound the same and gave 2 hour performance a great holiday/ date night

HEART, JOAN JETT, and CHEAP TRICK – This is happening in my area in AUGUST I cannot wait to 3 of my favorite bands ever! And if your lucky troll the internet you might get a deal on GROUPON

APINK – THIS IS YOUR K-POP FIX ; Fun interactive show lots of young K-POP fans. They are so popular and have the VIP meet n greet option.

Until Next Time,

LGOYW

About CHECK MY COAT

I have been working in coat check since 2006 in a few live music venues. This blog is something I have meaning to do for a long time. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

