TECH-LEECH

 

THE VIEWS EXPRESSED BY CHECKMYCOAT BLOG ON WORDPRESS  ARE SOLEY OF THE AUTHOR AND MAY BE OFFENSIVE IF YOU ARE EASILY OFFENDED THEN STOP READING

attackofthegiantleeches.jpg

For the Checkmycoat readers all over the world following my blog, seems as if I have encountered a BITER in my midst. What is a BITER you ask? Someone who is a leech an art leech, in my case I am claiming this person is a TECH-LEECH: someone who codes and steals ideas. (you know who you are)

Let me refresh you on this. ART is all encompassing inspiration it pushes you to have an opinion. When you are inspired by a piece of art and you create something INSPIRED. Then there are those LEECHES that steal ideas without permission or for whatever personal gain. With that being said I am pissed.

I started to talk to different people about this situation I have found myself in.

One person I recently met who was in his 20’s said I got API’d. It sounded similar to a KO punch. Of course, I had no idea what this meant so I was like what is that? Basically, coder trolls from whatever rock they live under scour the internet and find IDEAS that creative people come up with and develop whatever shit they want to market. Companies pay creative types for this kind of work, and then it gets translated into code.  To be honest I was stunned and then I became pissed. I get it we live in a world where respect, reverence, and being decent has taken a back seat. It’s the insta – everything without looking up; mow everything down to get what you want THE WILD WILD WEST online (I get it) but at the end of the day you got to call a spade a spade and there is a difference between right and wrong. That is called short term satisfaction, and will give you the minimal quality of life experience, but to each his/her own. (You do you)

I spoke to some other friends who are also artists and we all agreed that YES it is FUCKED UP! But, if you put it out on the internet without LEGAL protection artists and/or anyone is basically at the risked of getting FUCKED by a TECH-LEECH, a BITER. All these rules and laws and permits and licenses have their place in business and politics because it is $, and it’s just how the NON-ARTISTS justify a place for the creatives with a whole bunch of paper rules.

FUCK THE RULES

FUCK TECH- LEECHES

FUCK PEOPLE WHO STEAL TO GET AHEAD

*It doesn’t get you there any faster

I was also reminded by my fellow artist friends that I am hyper creative and come up with shit all the time, but projects are like kids it gets personal when some outsider you don’t know messes with your stuff there will always be the reaction, and that is where I am at with this (THE REACTION). For now I am reacting on my blog, it will be interesting to see how the story unfolds on this and I will be keeping you all aware.

To all artists out there keep creating no one can be YOU! No one can be in your head! Stick up for each other, and if need be throw some digital molotovs.

fairey-molotov.jpg

BY SHEPARD FAIREY

 

About CHECK MY COAT

I have been working in coat check since 2006 in a few live music venues. This blog is something I have meaning to do for a long time. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

